1930 Season

Mike Murphy
George 'Mike' Murphy
  Eugene Goodman
Eugene Goodman
 Results | Summary | Photos | W Winners 

Season Results


Season Summary

With the depression of the early ‘30's, crew was hit very hard from a financial standpoint, no new shells and about one race a season. Controversial and self-important UW President Glenn Frank (head of UW from 1925 to 1937) was slashing university budgets and salaries, while arranging for the university to purchase a new Lincoln Continental for his personal use.

J. Martin ‘Murph' Wolman, later publisher of the Wisconsin State Journal , recalls as a newsboy selling papers from a bench at the union, he used to hang around the crew house and occasionally steer the ‘Dad Vail,' a launch used by the university during the day as a rescue boat and in the afternoons as a coach's launch. Mr. Wolman's lifelong nickname of ‘Murph Jr.' or just “Murph' came from his days driving Coach Murphy's launch. Mr. Wolman recalled the crew program was so poor, Robert Erickson, the lessor of the rental boat concession in the boathouse complex, often donated the crew's gasoline to the launch. Mr. Wolman also recalls crew had no formal coach's office but used a small cubbyhole on the third floor of the Red Gym.

Over a 1¼-mile course in Delafield against St. John's Military Academy, UW's frosh took the lead and held it for more than ¾ of a mile. But St. John's put on a driving finish and nosed out the Badger yearlings.

May 22 (or 25) - UW met the University of Pennsylvania . Because of rough waters on Lake Mendota , the two mile contest was transferred to Lake Monona . Over 15,000 people lined the shores. As reported in The Badger 1932 , “In the last 100 yards, the Easterners sprung one of the biggest spurts of local history by increasing the pace to 44 strokes per minute to put them a scant three feet in the lead at the finish posts to win with the record time of 10:26; Wisconsin was timed at 10:26.5. The frosh faced Culver the same day.

On June 17, Washington 's three eights visited Madison for a tune-up on their way to Poughkeepsie . The two mile race had been postponed a day and moved to Lake Monona . “The yearling crews fought out a tie for three-fourths of the way over the course until the Husky (10”36) crew slipped into the lead to finish 10 seconds ahead of the Badgers (10:46)

The junior varsity Badger shell lost to Washington 's second boat by two lengths. With mist and rain falling at the start of the main race, Washington 's high powered shell took the lead at the start and won by three lengths in the fastest time ever run in the Middle West . The winning time was 10:14.” Prof. Ihde, in his penciled writings in Kelley's book, noted the JV lost by 6 lengths, and the partial boating: Eldrige (4 seat), Gene Goodman (Captain and 5 seat), Ihde (6), Lumpkin (7) and Sam Goldberg (cox)

The Badger varsity lost to the Huskies being clocked at 10:14 on Lake Mendota (sic; Lake Monona , per a May 30, 1948 news clipping and earlier accounts of this race. The Huskies time set a record for the distance in races between the two schools.) while the Badgers were 11 seconds slower.

On June 2, 1930, the second annual crew banquet, sponsored by the International Optimist Club was held at the Chrystal Room of the Loraine Hotel .


At the IRA's:

Wisconsin sent only its varsity eight to the IRA and raced in lane 4. The IRA finish, as reported on the front page of the June 27, 1930 New York Times , was the varsity eights - Cornell (21:42), Syracuse, MIT, California, Columbia, Washington, Penn, Wisconsin and Navy (which swamped 100 yards from the finish); junior varsity eight - Cornell, Washington, Columbia, Syracuse, Penn and Navy; freshman eights - Syracuse, Cornell, Columbia, Penn, Washington, Navy, California and MIT.

Ihde notes Wisco's varsity boating in penciled notes in Kelley's book: J. Sperling (bow), ? (2), Art Keenan,? (4). Harold Smedal, Elden Marple, H. Zabel, Hank Weber (stroke) and Rip Miller (cox). Substitutes were Gene Goodman (starboard) and Ihde (port).

The experience was recalled by UW stroke Eldon Marlpe (“W” winner in crew in 1929 and 1930) in a 1986 interview. “They have much nicer boats now. We had cedar boats in those days and they creaked a little bit. They were much more flexible and heavier. And they had a certain romance,” Marple maintained. “Both years (1929 and 1930) were a total catastrophe. We rowed across under water; we finished under water, It was a rough body of water: the stench and the barges.”



Jim Ten Eyck

Jim Ten Eyck



Don B. Abert
Frazier W. Bassett
Duncan Beers
Phil Davis
Warren Drouet
Robert D. Evans
Max Goldsmith
Eugene Goodman
J. (Joseph) David Horsfall
William B. Hovey
Aaron Ihde
Robert Jones
Arthur J. Keenan
Eedwin J. Kesting
William W. Lumpkin
ldon M. Marple
George W. ("Rip") Miller
Fred G. Morton
Louis E. Oberdeck
John L. Parks
Jerome W. Sperling
Lloyd R. Taylor
Henry C. Weber
Clifford B. Woodward
Harold H. Zabel
Robert A. Zentner
John A. Zeratsky


return to top

contact the webmaster