1958 Season

Norm Sonju
Norm Sonju
  Joe Irwin
Joe Irwin
 Results | Summary | W Winners 

Season Results

Eastern Sprints 8

Season Summary

For the fifth (or fourth?) straight year, members of the crew journeyed to Florida over winter break for a little pre-season practice at Rollins College in Winter Park, FL.

Wisconsin’s crew started out the season with three straight triumphs, but were unable to win again.  Early in February, Wisconsin defeated Rollins College at Winter Park, Florida by 4 ½ lengths and Tampa University by three-quarters of a length over a mile course;  UW’s times were 4:55.5 and 5:12.8, respectively.

February 25 and 26, the UW crew was able to get on the Yahara River for two spring-like days, in spite of below zero weather in late February which built 20” ice on Lake Mendota.  Hopes for an early spring break-up of ice on Mendota were dampened.

The March 1958 Wisconsin Rowing News described the preliminary plans for a new boathouse at Willow Beach on University Bay at an estimated cost of $160,000.

On May 10, Coach Sonju’s oarsmen ( staged their best race of the year when they defeated MIT, Columbus and Boston University on a 1 ¾ mile course near Boston.  (Columbia was coached by Don Rose, former UW coxswain.)

At the Eastern Sprints May 17 in Princeton, UW’s varsity eight (6:10.0) was 8th, with Yale (5:54.4, a record) the winner.

The Badgers played host to Navy and California May 31st and June 7th, respectively on the beautiful 1 ¾ mile course on Lake Mendota  The Middies beat the Badgers by two lengths while Cal (9:03) edged the UW (9:03.5) crew by only six feet.

In th IRA’s:

The Badger varsity (17:41) finished their season under Captain Joe Irwin by finishing eighth of 10 entries in the IRA regatta on Syracuse’s 3-mile course.

UW’s varsity boating:  C. B. Pope (bow), Robert Schmidt, William Erhke, William Sharpe, Richard Ahner, James Bowen, James Irwin, William Brauer (stroke) and Alan Clark (coxswain).

The UW freshmen (12:16) were 9th of nine entries in the yearling event of two miles won by Cornell (11:23).

Cornell won the Ten Eyck with 20 points;  Wisconsin scored one point and was ninth in the Ten Eyck rankings.



Richard T. Ahner
Brian Bagley
James H. Bowen
William A. Brauer
Alan F. Clark
Herbert L. Degner
William L. Ehrke
Courtney D. Freeman, Jr.
Joe R. Irwin
Randall T. Jablonic
Edgar Jacobi, Jr.
John R. Koch
Ted Martens
Robert J. Mazur
Alan Mess
Kenneth Olen
John Olson
Charles B. Pope
Thomas J. Prosser
Norman Rasulis
Terrol L. Rose
Robert Larry Schmitt
Dale F. Sharpee
David Slickman
Donald Spring
Palmer W. Taylor
Richard O. Trummer
Robert Witte
Philip Witte
William Yount


return to top

contact the webmaster