1976 Season

Randy Jablonic
Randall Jablonic
  John Bauch
John Bauch
 Results | Summary | Photos | W Winners 

Season Results

San Diego 4
Midwest 1
Cochrane 1
Eastern Sprints 2

Season Summary

At the Head of the Charles Regatta, a three mile upstream course on the Charles River in Boston , Wisconsin 's varsity (15:38.1), stroked by Fred Robertson, achieved third place, behind the Vesper Boat Club (15:33.1) and Princeton (15:36.6). UW's boating: Fred Robertson (bow), Tom Schuchardt, Ross Graves, Ed Jackson, John Bauch, John Mercier, John Storck (stroke) and Greg Askins (cox).

UW's second varsity, stroked by Dave Moecher, was seventh (15:45.8) at the HOC

In an exhibition March 27, UW's varsity (6:33.4), on a 2,000-meter course on Mission Bay, San Diego, CA, defeated the jayvee (6:37.6) boat from Wisconsin, Mission Bay “A” (6:39.0) and Mission Bay “B” (6:42.0). Both Mission Bay boats were from the Mission Bay Rowing Association.

On April 3, Wisconsin 's varsity eight crew (6:07.2) placed 4 th in the San Diego Rowing Classic behind Harvard (6:01.8), Penn (6:03.6) and Cal (6:03.7). The UW jayvee (6:28.6) boat tied for 5 th with Harvard behind winner Penn (6:21.5). The Badger four-oared boat (7:21.1) was 4 th in a race won by Harvard (7:12.5). UW's Four + boating: Jim Freemen (bow), John Cleary, Dave Schultz, Paul Schroeder (stroke) and Hal Menendez (cox).

April 10, the UW crew held its annual crew banquet at the Edgewater Hotel ballroom.

On May 1, Wisconsin hosted the 4 th annual Midwest Rowing Regatta on Lake Wingra 's 1,850-meter course. The results in the varsity eights were Wisconsin (Cox Trent Carlson; Stroke John Bauch, 7- Tom Schuchardt; 6- Mark Boyle; 5- Pat Litscher; 4- Ed Jackson; 3- Karl Newman; 2- John Mercier; Bow- Fred Robertson in 5:32.7); Purdue; Nebraska; Wichita State; Kansas State and the Detroit Boat Club.

The UW junior varsity eight (5:50.7) defeated Wisconsin “B”, Kansas State and the Duluth Boat Club. The freshmen eight of Wisconsin (5:51.0) beat Purdue , Nebraska , Kansas State , Wichita State , Lincoln Park and the Minneapolis Boat Club. The varsity fours + saw the Badgers (6:32.7) defeat Minnesota , Wichita State , Washburn “A” and Washburn “B”. The men's open fours + was won by the Detroit Boat Club with Wisconsin “A” second.

At the Cochrane Cup May 8th on Madison 's 2,000-meter course on a wind swept Lake Mendota , the varsity event faced a 23 mile an hour west wind. Wisconsin had open water on Dartmouth at 650 meters, the same on both crews at the 750 meter mark and led by two lengths at the mid-point of the race. Dartmouth was second at the 1,000-meter mark by ¼ length over MIT and made a good closing surge in the final 600 meters to close to 1 ¼ lengths of the Badgers and gain a length on MIT. Wisconsin won in 6:01.9 (a record), followed by Dartmouth (6:06.9) and MIT (6:10.9). UW's boating: Fred Robertson (bow), John Mercier, Karl Newman, Tom Schuchardt, John Bauch, Ed Jackson, John Storck, Pat Litscher (stroke) and Hal Menendez (cox).

The UW freshmen (6:08.2) impressively won an intra-squad contest defeating two junior varsity boats and a second freshman shell.

At the Eastern Sprints in Princeton , N. J., William N. Wallace, sportswriter for the New York Times wrote:

The varsity heavyweight race was a good one with the lead changing twice. Penn had the best start but at 500 meters Wisconsin moved into first place with a deck-length lead over Harvard in the adjoining lane. The water was smooth and conditions good. Ollie Shore , the stroke oar, in command of Harvard's destiny, did not let Wisconsin get very far out in front which was important. ‘We didn't take any 10 power strokes or anything like that,' said Bruce Larson, Harvard's coxswain. “We just passed them and kept on going. We just breezed right by them,' Larson continued in describing the key moment of the regatta on Lake Carnegie.

The Crimson boat passed Wisconsin at 1,200 meters of the 2,000-meter course (1.4 miles) and won by a boat length. The unbeaten Harvard crew, which had an easy time of it this season, got the challenge which it sought from the Wisconsin eight. ‘It was by far our hardest race,' said Larson

The varsity eight final at the Sprints was: Harvard (6:07.4), Wisconsin (6:11.1), Penn (6:12.9), Princeton (6:14.4), Brown (6:14.9) and Boston University (6:21.9). In the JV-8's: Penn (6:23.1), Navy (6:26.1), Northeastern (6:27.3), Wisconsin (6:29.7), Harvard (6:33.4) and Yale (6:35.2). The freshman eight ended: Harvard (6:20.7), Yale (6:25.7), Princeton (6:28.9), Wisconsin (6:30.7), Penn (6:37.3) and Boston University (6:53.7).

The Rowe Cup was won by Harvard (36), followed by Penn (33) and Wisconsin (32).


In the IRA's:

The Ten Eyck Trophy event-weighting formula is changed in 1976 to give more weight to the three eights events.

Headlined “California Varsity Crew Victor, Wisconsin 3rd ,” William Wallace wrote, “With perfect execution of the race plan of their coach, Steve Gladstone, the California (6:31) youths upset the favored Wisconsin crew and persevered in a tough varsity final that saw all six boats finish within eight seconds or two lengths of a 60-foot shell.

Wisconsin 's Badgers did not have it in the last 400 meters of the 2,000-meter (1.4 miles) course and wound up in third place. Princeton accomplished a commendable second, three-fourths of a boat length behind the winners. Penn was fourth, MIT fifth and Syracuse sixth. The winning time was slow, 6:31 , because of a moderate headwind on an otherwise perfect afternoon enjoyed by 20,000 spectators.

Cal Coach Steve Gladstone knew to tell his crew to look for a big Wisconsin push at 1,500 meters, which is where the Badgers like to overpower the opposition. The Golden Bears were a close first all the way with Wisconsin second until near the end. Then Princeton came up second, the best showing for a Tiger varsity at the IRA regatta since a similar second in 1952. Penn came from fifth to fourth at the end and MIT from sixth to fifth over Syracuse .

Wisconsin's varsity 4 - (Jim Sullivan (bow), Dave Moecher (No. 2), Jim Freeman (No. 3) and Joe Knight (S)) won at the Syracuse IRA's in time of 6:48.0; the second varsity was 6 th ; the freshman eight was second; the freshman four + was 5th .

In the Ten Eyck, Penn won (259.8) and Wisconsin was second (186.8) and Yale third (159.3).

Curt Drewes, who began rigging for the University of Wisconsin crew when Franklin Roosevelt was President, retires after 37 years. Drewes stepped in to coach the crew team in 1944 while then-coach Allen Walz went off to war, but the highlight of Drewes' career came in 1972. That was the year he was selected by a pool of coaches to be the rigger for the United States Olympic crew. The German-born Drewes was especially pleased because the Olympic Games were held in Munich .

-“Badger Rigger Drewes Retires,” Capital Times , August 31, 1976, Sports



Fashon article with cox Hal Menendez

Fashon article with cox Hal Menendez



Paul G. Askins
John O. Bauch
Mark C. Boyle
Trent Carlson
Nestor Domingez
David P. Eloranta
James W. Freeman, Jr.
Paul R. Gebel
Carie Graves
Ross B. Graves
Peter R. Hamilton
Christopher G. Hayes
Edward Jackson
Daniel Kammer
Craig J. Kaplan
Joseph M. Knight
Donald F. Kraft
Patrick Litscher
Harold A. J. Menendez
John C. Mercier
Dave Moecher
Karl F. Newman
William C. Norsetter
Frederick A. Robertson
Tom S. Schuchardt
Paul Smith
John R. Storck
James Sullivan
Allen Teter
Laurence W. Trotter, II
Arno F. Werner
Randall H. Zondag


return to top

contact the webmaster